Consumer VoIP Compare


User Reviews and Comparisons of the Top VoIP Providers

JoiPhone Review

Ratings

Overall Rating:

Reliability:

Sound Quality:
3 Star Review

3 Star Review

3 Star Review
Value:

Features:

Customer Service:
5 Star Review

3.5 Star Review

2.5 Star Review

JoiPhone Review

JoiPhone is a Newer Provider with Cheap Prices and a Variety of Plan Choices

JoiPhone has not been in the VoIP industry for very long, but they have already established themselves as a provider noteable for versatility and low costs. First, they are currently offering a promotion of $8.95/mo for a year when prepaid as $107.40, or $8.95/mo month-to-month for the first three months (only $16.95/mo after that). This is one of the lowest rates in the VoIP industry - a year of service for roughly equal to two months of the average traditional phone bill. In addition to this, JoiPhone is very versatile regarding plans and add-on features. You can get their dirt-cheap 100 minutes/month plan for only $6.95/mo - not an introductory price. If you call internationally, you have two choices - unlimited U.S. and Canada plus 800 minutes to the top 40 countries for $16.95/mo, or 800 minutes to the top 70 countries for $43.95/mo.

Their add-on features are great as well. You can get a virtual phone number - a number located in any U.S. area code that redirects to your main number - for only $1.95. Create a phone number in a city where family lives and they can call you for free. Additional lines are only $4.95, and you can even own your own toll-free (1-800) number for $2.95 (plus $.039/min). Service quality is certainly not on par with PhonePower or other other top-rated providers, but JoiPhone is still a viable choice for those who want low-priced service with plenty of extras. The options are plentiful - as well as affordable - with JoiPhone VoIP service.

JoiPhone.com
Back to Reviews

User Reviews - Submit a Review

Pages: 1 2
JoiPhone.com
Overall Rating:
Reliability:
Sound Quality:
Value:
Features:
Customer Service:

Reviewed By:
Posted:
3 Star Review
3 Star Review
3 Star Review
3 Star Review
4 Star Review
3 Star Review

amc
10/04/2009

JoiPhone Review:

No problems porting number from Packet8 (or 8x8), which I've had for many years. No problems getting set up. Used service for over two years, occasional dropped calls, lots of problems dialing into webinars/ teleconferencing numbers where you have to enter special code, but all problems issues were addressed/fixed. One important thing to note about this service: ALL CALLS ARE SET TO DISCONNECT AFTER TWO HOURS. I'm not usually on the phone that long, but it happened a few times over the course of the years and I decided to ask. Rep confirmed that THIS IS POLICY, just means you have to redial the number again if you are on a phone marathon. Right now I'm having trouble with internet connection via router, which is connected to the Linksys adapter that Joiphone sends free with prepaid service. I've tried disconnected the Joiphone adapter and connect router directly to modem - internet works fine. The adapter seems to be a bottleneck for internet communication. It took me 12+ hours overnight to upload a simple 1-min. video done on my cheap Samsung digital camera to YouTube and it was done with errors, so my efforts were wasted. I hooked wireless router directly to modem and same operation took 10 mins. So the culprit is the Joiphone Linksys adapter. Not sure what to do about it, since I prepaid for another two years... So either I have no phone or suffer with excruciatingly SLOW internet service even though I pay Cablevision up the wazoo for all their services...

Overall Rating:
Reliability:
Sound Quality:
Value:
Features:
Customer Service:

Reviewed By:
Posted:
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review

Sick Of Joi phone
09/10/2009

JoiPhone Review:

I never write reviews but this company is horrible. I have the service and unfortunately I'm stuck because I prepaid, and THEY WONT ISSUE A REFUND. The SERVICE AND CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HORRIBLE and I continue to have problems. They may seem cheap, but the aggravation you have is NOT WORTH IT!

Overall Rating:
Reliability:
Sound Quality:
Value:
Features:
Customer Service:

Reviewed By:
Posted:
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
3 Star Review
3 Star Review
1 Star Review

Art Altman
08/19/2009

JoiPhone Review:

ABSOLUTLY NO SERVICE. Took months to get going, and then they cut off service 4 times due to various excuses, such as their billing system did it, even though there was no billing issue. They double billed me many times and I had to constantly check the bills and ask for credits. Could not get answers about anything to do with billing and they will provide no contacts. They had one teck who would solve problems if you knew to ask for him, but he is no longer there.

Overall Rating:
Reliability:
Sound Quality:
Value:
Features:
Customer Service:

Reviewed By:
Posted:
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review

Richard Wharton
07/27/2009

JoiPhone Review:

Paid them $190.00 when my VOIP died, they could not 'Port' the phone number over that I had for over 10yrs. Went with ViaTalk who did port the number over. Shipped all the equipment back to Joiphone who refused to give me a credit. Recently asked them again after 2 yrs if they would apply my credit to 18-24 months worth of service and they refused to do it. It is my personal experience that there is no 'Joy' with Joiphone. Don't let them rip you off too!

Overall Rating:
Reliability:
Sound Quality:
Value:
Features:
Customer Service:

Reviewed By:
Posted:
2 Star Review
4 Star Review
3 Star Review
3 Star Review
3 Star Review
1 Star Review

Kurt Andersen
05/31/2009

JoiPhone Review:

The quality of the phone service itself was acceptable but the customer service was terrible. I had continious billing issues and once the disconnected service because they neglected to bill the credit card which was on file. When I contacted them to discuss the issue they were rude and would not accept responsibility for their mistake. Given the many other choice available I would not recommend them.

Overall Rating:
Reliability:
Sound Quality:
Value:
Features:
Customer Service:

Reviewed By:
Posted:
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review

Andy
05/30/2009

JoiPhone Review:

DON'T USE THIS COMPANY!!! This is the WORST!!! They gave me someone else # and when I called them to fix it they just RUDE like it's my fault. I got this company a week ago and it still not fixed no one can call me what a waist of money time and energy!!! Go somewhere else if you don't I'll bet you in one week you be saying the samething

Overall Rating:
Reliability:
Sound Quality:
Value:
Features:
Customer Service:

Reviewed By:
Posted:
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review
1 Star Review

M
05/19/2009

JoiPhone Review:

I don't normally do reviews but if it saves someone else from the nightmare of dealing with such an incompotent company then it's worth it. Everything that others have already written has occured to me too. Between the porting area to billing it's a toss up which area is more useless than the other. How these people are employeed when there are so many more qualified people out there in this economy amazes me. No wonder the Atlanta Better Business Bureu has given this company a F - check it out atlanta.bbb.org. This is an independant authority if you don't believe this website or actual customers.

Overall Rating:
Reliability:
Sound Quality:
Value:
Features:
Customer Service:

Reviewed By:
Posted:
1 Star Review
5 Star Review
4 Star Review
1 Star Review
4 Star Review
1 Star Review

ralph Hall
05/18/2009

JoiPhone Review:

service keeps failing.They do not answer my e-mails.They tried to charge me for next years service after i cancelled service.PLEASE DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE OF BUYING THIS SERVICE.

Overall Rating:
Reliability:
Sound Quality:
Value:
Features:
Customer Service:

Reviewed By:
Posted:
4 Star Review
4 Star Review
5 Star Review
5 Star Review
3 Star Review
3 Star Review

Przemek
02/21/2009

JoiPhone Review:

Had JoiPhone for 6 months now and the service is great except for 1 day outage. Voice quality is excellent, same or better than vonage and phonepower(had them both prior joiphone). Joiphone has the best rates for a basic phone service with great call quality including international calls but their user interface/web site is limited and hard to use even for experienced person compared to vonage or phonepower. Tech support is a hit and miss depending on who u get (they all speak english) but there is nobody in billing or customer service to talk to so if you have a billing issue, you can only resolve it thru email (no one to talk at billing). I have the unlimited plan with 800 minutes for international calls for $20 month to month which saves me about $6-10 a month over vonage.

Overall Rating:
Reliability:
Sound Quality:
Value:
Features:
Customer Service:

Reviewed By:
Posted:
5 Star Review
4 Star Review
5 Star Review
5 Star Review
4 Star Review
2 Star Review

John
01/24/2009

JoiPhone Review:

Domestically joiphone is reliable, but we've had a lot of problems connecting internationally. When I originally switched to joiphone from sunrocket, I don't think it took very long for them to port the number over, but recently had them switch another line over and that took close to 2 months to complete. The sunrocket web site was much better. Joiphone has some frills like customized on hold music you can upload, and call forwarding, but their web interface isn't very user friendly.

Submit a ReviewJoiPhone.com
Copyright © 2010 ConsumerVoIPCompare.com | Privacy Policy | Support